Sunsets and Sunrises

Sunrise

 

To most of the country, Seattle is well known for a few things: Coffee, seafood, techies, the 12th Man, etc., and etc. Okay, there are plenty more, but I can’t think of them at the moment.

Aside from those, it’s also know for its lush evergreen trees, glistening waters, endless trails to explore and rain. Lots and lots of rain. When the sun decides to grace Seattleites with its presence, the Emerald City poses as one of the most beautiful cities across the country.

I live in a suburb just outside of Seattle. Everyday after work, I try to run as my routine in an attempt of keeping healthy. Last night, as I made my way through my usual trail, I noticed touches of orange and pink clouds peaking through the trees hovering above me. Whenever I see a glimpse of these clouds, I know right away a beautiful sunset or sunrise is happening. I decided to take a different route to admire and witness this sunset for myself.

I love sunrises and sunsets. They occur during moments where it feels like it’s most peaceful. I love them so much that if one of these occurred even when driving, I would purposely park my car just to capture a photo of its beauty; and to admire what nature, what God, has created.

As sunrises slowly transition our night into light, it’s a reminder of how lucky I am to be able to breathe and live another day. As sunsets transition our days into nights, it’s a reward of all the accomplishments I’ve completed that day. Either way, they both bring a sense of peace into my soul.

What I love most about them? Every sunrise and sunset is different. Not one is, or will ever be, the same as the day before. Whenever I catch them, I try to take every moment of beauty in. I try to live in the moment because I know I’ll never see the exact same phenomenon again.

It’s so much like life. We live in a world of instant gratification. A world where we plan a vision in our heads and are disappointed if doesn’t come true. With sunrises and sunsets, though not similar everyday, we accept and appreciate their beauty. We accept the picturesque image sewn together by the clouds and touches of the sun – accented with hues of pinks, oranges, gold, and sometimes even black. Though we know what a sunset and a sunrise looks like, we never visualize all the different pieces that cohesively create the photo in our minds.

If only people see life and people the way I see sunrises and sunsets. Tomorrow is never certain – take time to admire life’s precious moments. While we live in a world filled with routine, slow down and smell the roses. Admire the beauty of something unique. Admire a sunset, count the petals of a flower and as you’re savoring a bite of your next exotic meal, why not try to decipher the different ingredients in the food? Accept that beauty comes in all shapes and sizes – all forms and colors. Everyday, like a sunset and sunrise, people change – mentally and physically. Accept their changes, accept their flaws and if by a chance they are experiencing negativity, offer your empathy.

My entire point to what I have just written? Like you would a sunrise or sunset, savor life’s moments and accept people – beauty, flaws and everything that comes along with them.

XOXO

–Crystel

About crystelc1ear

I'm a Seattle native who enjoys looking at the brighter side of things. Once a person who dwells in the past, I now use my past experiences, both good and bad, to write some pretty interesting stories. Well, for myself that is. Recently, I've travelled to places that have encouraged me to be more open-minded. I'm a foodie and I like the idea of savoring foods as much as savoring every moment in life. Okay, I'm getting too philosophical ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

